The Scientific Advisory Board serves as advisors on FARA’s scientific research priorities, goals and programs as well as medical issues that arise from FA and treatment implementation.

Key Responsibilities:

  • A commitment to FARA's mission; advancing treatments & improving clinical outcomes for individuals with FA.
  • A commitment to helping FARA grow and nurture the FA research community.
  • To promote collaboration in the FA research community.
  • Reviewing grants and making funding recommendations
  • Assessing gaps in research portfolio and making recommendations for new opportunites/research directions


Bronya Keats, PhD
Emeritus Professor of Genetics, LSU Health Sciences Center
FARA, Chief Research Officer

Giovanni Manfredi, MD, PhD
Professor of Neurology and Neuroscience
Weill Cornell Medical College


Sanjay Bidichandani, PhD
Section Head of Genetics, University of Oklahoma College of Medicine
Department of Pediatrics
FARA, Board of Directors

Joy Cavagnaro, PhD
Access BIO

Joel Gottesfeld, PhD
Professor Emeritus
Department of Molecular Medicine
Scripps Research Institute

Sidney Hecht, PhD
Director, Biodesign Center for Bioenergetics
Arizona State University

David Lynch, MD, PhD
Professor of Neurology
Children's Hospital of Philadelphia / University of Pennsylvania

Jane Larkindale, DPhil
Vice President of Clinical Science

James McArthur, PhD
President and CEO
FARA, Board of Directors

Marek Napierala, PhD
Department of Neurology
UT Southwestern

Massimo Pandolfo, MD, FAAN, FEAN
Professor (Clinical)
Department of Neurology and Neurosurgery
McGill University

Mark Payne, MD
Professor of Pediatrics (Cardiology)
Indiana University School of Medicine

Hélène Puccio, PhD
Research Director Inserm
Institut NeuroMyoGene (INMG)

Bernard Ravina, PhD
Entrepreneur in Residence, Atlas Venture

James Rusche, PhD
Independent Consultant
Pharma and Biotech Product Development
FARA, Board of Directors

Kevin Whittlesey, PhD
Dark Horse Consulting Group

Robert Wilson, PhD
Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
University of Pennsylvania