Brona My name is Brona Kearney from Ireland. I’m 31 years old.

I was diagnosed with scoliosis at 8 years old and at 10 years old with FA. I had scoliosis surgery at 13 years old and then again when I was 14 years old. I competed on the Irish Long Distance Riding Association team internationally from 2007 to 2011 with my pony Charmer. I have a Diploma in Applied Taxation, a BA (Hons) in accounting, a master’s in accounting, a professional qualification as a Certified Chartered Accountant, i.e., ACCA and as a Chartered Tax Advisor, i.e., CTA.

Brona I live at home with my parents. I have 2 siblings, an older brother, and an older sister. Neither of them lives at home. My sister has FA as well as me.

Currently I work 4 days a week at home (mostly) in tax. I work on Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, and Friday meaning I take a Wednesday off to break up the week. When I’m not working, I’m heavily involved with horse riding, riding my trike or doing physio exercises, e.g., walking in posterior walker in my AFOs, doing hydrotherapy, floor exercise etc.

I predominately use a manual wheelchair to get around. I have a car I drive with hand controls. I ride my pony, Charmer, at least 3/4 times a week and ride my trike, at least 3/4 times a week. I try to do physio exercises 6 times a week.

I have become a FARA Ambassador after seeing how FARA has created an FA community and given people the opportunity to learn and support each other. I hope to be able in time to do similar work with the help of FARA.

I try to think about what I can do, and I feel the FARA Ambassador program is a good fit for me at the moment. Brona