Accept Cookies?
Provided by OpenGlobal E-commerce

Please wait while your page loads ...

Meet the Community

You are not alone. The entire FA community, also known as the FAmily, is taking this journey with you. Meet a few of our dynamic people with FA below.  New Meet the Community interviews are posted every Monday, so be sure to visit often.  Please e-mail info@curefa.org if you would like to be interviewed for a Meet the Community post.
 

FARA Ambassadors

The FARA Ambassadors are a group of people living with FA who are committed to supporting FARA in the search for a treatment and cure. They represent the community by speaking at events, meeting pharmaceutical partners, giving media interviews, and more.

Meet the FAmily!


Jafar Marizapoor

Jafar Mirzapoor Name: Jafar Mirzapoor

Age: 25

Where do you call home? I am an Afghan refugee and currently I live in Iran.

Education (degree(s): I am graduated from high school and I study computer by myself

Who do you live with? With my parents and siblings (they are patients too)

 

Joseph Boon

Joseph Boon Name: Joseph Boon

Age: 32

Where do you call home? Palmerston North, Aotearoa New Zealand

Education (degree(s): Bachelor of Arts double major from Victoria University of Wellington. I am considering getting a further teaching qualification, but I haven’t made up my mind.

Who do you live with? I live with my sister.

What's a typical day for you? I spend my days painting, drawing, reading, writing letters, exercising, dog walking, watching good films and TV, and spending time with my young nieces and nephew. I also like to meet friends in cafes. Depending on my level of energy I may do any, or all of these things in a normal day.

Christina Buckalew

Christina Buckalew 1 Name: Christina Buckalew

Age: 21

Where do you call home? Austin, TX

Education: I’m currently working on my associates degree in Business Management at a community college. Next, I will be going for a Bachelors in Business Management, hopefully at Texas A&M. I aspire to acquire a Masters in Business Management from the Business school in Paris, France; but that is still to be determined.

Who do you live with? I live with my parents, my sister, my uncle, three cats and a dog.

What's a typical day for you? I am always doing something different. I am an avid volunteer, I ride horses, I go to physical therapy twice a week, I tutor my cousin, and I enjoy eating out. So, I guess you could say my typical day would be doing something that makes me feel alive.

Shandra Trantham

Shandra 1 Name: Shandra Trantham

Age: 24

Where do you call home? Gainesville, FL

Education (degree(s): I’m starting my 5th year as a PhD candidate in Genetics with the hope of graduating next year. FA has positively influenced my perspective as a researcher, and I ultimately want to continue to bridge the patient and research communities as well as branch out more into advocacy.

Who do you live with? I live in an apartment with my service dog, Abbey, and one of my best friends who also has FA, Christian Maugee.

What's a typical day for you? A typical day for me includes getting up early, feeding/walking Abbey, spending all day at work/school, then coming home to clean, make dinner, relax, and volunteer for FARA.

Robert Manuka

Robert Manuka Name: Robert Manuka

Age: 35

Where do you call home? I live in a sea city called Durres, Albania

Education: I have finished High school

Who do you live with? I live with my wife and my daughter

What's a typical day for you? I like to read books

How long have you known you are living with FA? I was diagnosed with Friedreich Ataxia in 2002 after I took the genetic tests.

Are there any others with FA in your family? Yes, my two brothers also have Friedreich Ataxia

Describe an adaptation and/or transition you have had to take due to living with FA. When I was first diagnosed, I used crutches, then a walker. Now, I use a wheelchair.

Page 1 of 61

SHARE

FacebookTwitterLinkedInYoutube

 

Archived in
  the Ambassador Blog


Privacy Policy      Service Terms      Contact      Charity Navigator